Monday, July 02, 2007

Quezon Del Sur?

This month congress will open and will endorse for signing of the President anytime this month a bill aiming to divide Quezon into 2. The bill proposed by then Senator Wigberto Tañada and then congressman Rafael Nantes aim to divide the 862,676 hectares prvince of Quezon into a Quezon del Norte and Quezon Del Sur. If the president signs the bill it will be put into a plebiscite coinciding with the presidential election in 2010.
According to the bill Quezon del Norte will be composed of Lucena, Burdeos, Nakar, Infanta, Jomalig, Lukban, Mauban, Pagbilao, Patnanungan, Polillo, Real, Tayabas, Candelaria, Polillo, San Antonio, Sariaya and Tiaong. The Quezon del Sur will consists of Agdangan, Bunevista, Catanuan, Gen Luna, Macalelon, Mulanay, padre Burgos, Patnanongan, San Antonio, San Francisco, San narciso, Unisan, Alabat, Atimonan, Guinyanagan, Gumaca, Lopez, Plaridel Quezon, Tagkawayan.
For Quezon Del Sur the capital will be Gumaca and for the Quezon del Norte will be Lucena.
The primary aim of the bill is to propel economic growth. The question though can this realistically possible?.
Let us analyze:
1. Dividing the province into 2 will create a new batch of politicians that will rule Quezon Del Sur from the Governor down to the Board members. This means that the taxpayers will shoulder their salaries, their honorariums and other expenses.
2. Judging from the history of dividing provinces like Surigao del Norte, Surigao del sur; Lanao del Norte, Lanao del Sur; Negros Occidental, Negros Oriental;These provinces are among the poorest in the country. Therefore there is no assurance that dividing the province will ensure growth.
3. There is no consultation on every sectors in the Province if this is really a need.
This is a country where politicians passion is to to rename streets, dividing provinces and approving their own pork barrels. When will this curse end?


  1. elaine de villa6:47 PM

    sir, confuse lang po. what really composes Quezon del Sur and Del Norte? to quote: "For Quezon Del Sur the capital will be Lucena and for the Quezon del Norte will be Gumaca." The previous sentence says that Quezon del Norte composes of Lucena etc... and Del Sur will consist of Agdangan etc...
    Thank you po.

    I learned from my husband last night that this will really push through daw po and the president will appoint the governor for the other quezon... hubby says "babaeng suarez daw"

  2. Thanks elaine. you are right. Quezon Del Norte- Lucena; Quezon del Sur- Gumaca.

  3. Anonymous8:02 PM

    This is another proposal from some inande politicians! we have not even maximize our being part of the "Calabarzon" economic flatform and here we are working to divide the province. This is a crazy proposition that must be opposed by Quezonians.

    Is there any organized group opposed to this plan?

    tim capellan

  4. Anonymous4:22 AM

    I'm from Quezon living overseas and I don't agree about this plan.If this will improve the economy,other provinces would've done the same way long time ago.Leave it as it is,a lot of people will just get confused.